Presence In India


IndiaTwo hundred years ago, a band of five brave and daring Canossian pioneers –landed in India (Cochin) from Hong Kong and started their missionary work on November 24th,1889. Prompted by the same spirit of the Foundress they began the work of serving the poor of Christ in a place utterly unknown to them in culture, language and customs.

In January 1988, the organisation of the Institute in India took a new turn, with the emergence of three distinct Provinces:

St Xavier Mary Immaculate Queen of Peace
The Province of St. Francis Xavier – India Centre The Province of Mary Immaculate – India-South The Province of Queen of Peace – India-North